Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

Flywheel opinion/warranty issues?

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2006, 09:16 PM
CTGT2005
1st Gear Member

Default Flywheel opinion/warranty issues?

Finally got around to ording a centerforce dual friction clutch. Now while I am in there it only makes sense to go the extra step and swap out the flywheel. Pretty much as far as I can tell I have only a few options while still being reasonably affordable, spec and fidanza. I have no experience with either company, but from the little I have gathered, Spec seems to be more reputable. Anyone with experience with either the Spec of fidanza flywheel? Also whats the weight on the aluminum spec flywheel? I know the fidanza is 12 pounds.

Also, I do have mild concern about the warranty of both the engine and the transmission when swapping out any factory parts for aftermarket. I do realize that the Magnuson Moss Warranty act does state that a manufacturer cannot void a warranty due to addition of an aftermarket part without a viable reason for doing so. If for some reason down the road I happen to run into warranty issues with either engine or tranmission will the clutch or flywheel render the warranty void?

Thanks
Greg
Old 11-02-2006, 08:50 PM
CTGT2005
1st Gear Member

Default RE: Flywheel opinion/warranty issues?

Ok, well I guess I answered my own question. I called Ford, the flywheel wont void the warranty, unless it can proven that a design flaw or problem with the installation damaged the engine or transmission.

I decided to go with the Fidanza Alum flywheel as I was told it will not cause daily drivability issues with the 05+ mustang. With any luck Its going in this weekend.
Old 11-03-2006, 04:23 AM
androdz
I ♥ Acer

ORIGINAL: CTGT2005