Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

Muffler opinions

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2016, 07:05 PM
09GT/CS
2nd Gear Member

Default Muffler opinions

So I have a mid mounted flowmaster 40 on my 09 and love the sound with my cams. But it drags on just about everything including the monster speed bumps at work. I'm considering going with Borla stingers so I can tuck them up further. I saw a few videos online and they sound good mid mounted with stock cams. My concern is will it sound bad with the Cam thump as I know chambered is best for that but I just don't like the axle back sound. Kinda stuck here. Anyone with some suggestions?
Old 07-16-2016, 10:28 AM
ghunt
3rd Gear Member

Yours may be different but after I put in my cams, my chambered Edelbrock axle back I used to have was just plain obnoxious. It sounded good but there was tons of drone and at idle it was like you had a big subwoofer on either side of your head. I picked up the Ford Racing Touring axle back I have on there now, and I think it sounds pretty good with the cams. Less of the obnoxious bassy-ness. I wouldn't count on any mid-mounted stinger type mufflers to do much muffling though, prior to cams I started mine with the axle backs removed and just the Magnaflows under the car and it might as well have had no mufflers at all.
Old 07-17-2016, 09:56 AM
09GT/CS
2nd Gear Member

Originally Posted by ghunt