Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

Advise on Pypes mid-muffler

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2007, 11:18 AM
tristang

Default Advise on Pypes mid-muffler

Hi all. I'm a newbie, but I've done a lot of research on the forums. I'm going to order the Pypes mid-muffler system purely for the asthetics. I don't have a CAI, just the K & N reusable filter. Do I need to buy a tune once I install the Pypes? Does anyone know if the MPG will go down a lot? It's my daily drive in CA. Mostly stop & go city miles. I currently average 12-14 MPG. Thanks.
Old 11-28-2007, 11:48 AM
mynameismike65
4th Gear Member

Default RE: Advise on Pypes mid-muffler

No you won't need a tune.
Old 11-28-2007, 03:47 PM
tristang

Thanks. Now I just have to crawl under the car to see if I have to order the stainless steel hanger kit along with the Pypes.
Old 11-28-2007, 06:05 PM
TASSY5
2nd Gear Member

I have them with Cervini's side exit exhaust. With the Stock Catted H pipe they sound really nice. I had the Pypes ORH and they were so loud I couldn't take it.
Old 11-28-2007, 06:39 PM
tristang

Thanks for the reply. I just went to the Cervini's website. That C-300 package is so sick, I want to through up on myself!!!! Any pics? I bet she's a sweet ride.
Old 11-28-2007, 06:41 PM
aircare84
3rd Gear Member

No tune is needed & your gas milage won't change. I did have sone issue with the hangers on the pass side rear pipe, you might have to heat/bend the hanger rods slightly to get the tips lined up properly.
Also, if you're not using a lift to install, you'll need to unbolt the rear shocks @ bottom end,jack the car up a bit more to get the stock over-axle pipe off. Tight fit on the muffler to tank clearance.
They sound good with the stock H-pipe & cats. I've got a video of mine here;
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fANDdIp2GjY
I'll be installing long tubes here in a few weeks on mine.
Old 11-28-2007, 11:53 PM
tristang