Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

Throttle body and air intake question.

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2010, 04:00 AM
drewsky
3rd Gear Member

Default Throttle body and air intake question.

I am pretty new to the newer mustangs and just picked up an 06 gt last week. The car has a full "pypes" x pipe exhaust ststem and im planning on adding other bolt ons. I want to buy the ford racing throttle body and cold air intake. although i dont want to have to tune the com. and run premium fuel, i drive this car evry day and the extra 20cents a gallon ads up quick...... so is it possible to install both or one or the other without tuning? also what brands do you guys recomed from experience? ALL comments will be appreciated regarding any info you have on this subject thx!

p.s. i installed the hurst comp. plus shifter a few days ago. would highly recomend it!!!
Old 05-22-2010, 04:27 AM
howarmat
s197 Junkie

Skip the TB it wont gain you anything worth a damn. and yes you should get a tune for the intake and run better fuel.
Old 05-22-2010, 05:34 AM
Tylus
5th Gear Member

you run the risk of running lean and getting a check engine light with a CAI and no tuning.

save your money on the throttle body. you can easily go past 400 RWHP with your stock TB with no issues.

I'd talk with a tuner like Brenspeed and get a tuner + CAI combo.

to be fair though, you will never re-coup the cost of a CAI & tuner in terms of mileage savings. You are looking at $400-600 easily to save about $2 per tank of gas.
Old 05-22-2010, 12:04 PM
drewsky
3rd Gear Member

haha so the air intake will save a little mileage? not enough to compensate for the 20cents though. I know it sounds i am being cheap, but hp=more gas!
Old 05-22-2010, 01:09 PM
dysan
2nd Gear Member