Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

Pype Bomb = AMAZING

Old 05-18-2015, 06:51 PM
CMcNam
3rd Gear Member

Originally Posted by SYMBOLISM
I too am trying to decide between bombs and violators. How come on americanmuscle the violators say they give HP and the pype bombs doesnt mention HP?

Also was wondering if I should get a catback or axelback. I am in california and do not wanna fail smog. any advice.

I am also new to mustangs. Just got mine last week. LOVE IT
Thread is five years old but here's the lowdown, neither exhaust is going to give you (or free up) horsepower. Just doesn't work that way with our cars. I owned the Pypes catback exhaust and couldn't stand it. Sounds good, but it never fit properly and started rusting. I just swapped it out for the Kooks catback and the quality is significantly better. It would be better for you to save for a little bit longer and get a better quality exhaust.
Old 05-18-2015, 10:49 PM
keester
2nd Gear Member

Welcome from another Californian. Just got some axlebacks delivered today. I will give you an update when I get them installed.
Old 05-19-2015, 08:30 AM
SYMBOLISM

Originally Posted by CMcNam
Thread is five years old but here's the lowdown, neither exhaust is going to give you (or free up) horsepower. Just doesn't work that way with our cars. I owned the Pypes catback exhaust and couldn't stand it. Sounds good, but it never fit properly and started rusting. I just swapped it out for the Kooks catback and the quality is significantly better. It would be better for you to save for a little bit longer and get a better quality exhaust.
Thanks for info. Do you know if a catback would reduce the chances of me passing a smog test or is that only if I alter or remove the cats
Old 05-19-2015, 08:30 AM
SYMBOLISM

Originally Posted by keester