Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

Build Motor or Supercharge?

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2010, 09:33 PM
TD300

Default Build Motor or Supercharge?

I have been debating on whether building a motor for my 2005 mustang GT with almost 50k miles or just putting a pro charger or kenne bell on it and then building a motor later. But with getting a supercharger i would pully it down to making low boost where i could salvage my motor as long as possible. Or i was thinking to get a MMR Street rod Long block stroker and having it built the way i wanted it and later putting a supercharger on it...
What do you guys think??

P.S. where i am at college i cant really drive my car around that much so it sits for about 5 days at a time and when i start it up for the first time and pull it out of the garage it has some blue smoke coming out of it. So it worrys me that if supercharged i will be assembling a grenade ready to blow at a moments notice....
Old 11-21-2010, 09:33 PM
Simon1
5th Gear Member

I wouldn't worry about the smoke. Unless it's smoking al the time or going through alot of oil, don't worry.

Get a KB, run 10 psi @ 475 rwhp and leave it till it blows. Which it probably won't.
Old 11-21-2010, 11:40 PM
SpartaPerformance
4th Gear Member

Don't worry about the smoke, in Ford infinite design "wisdom" they run oil through the intake manifold so a bit of smoke on start up is "normal". To poor a lot of money into a "built" motor and get very little power doesn't make any sense. I'd supercharge it, believe it or not you can run them even at 10 - 11 psi on stock motor for years especially on their stock tune. Provided you drive like a normal human (as normal as you can get with all that power) you can get thousands and thousands of miles out of them.
Old 11-22-2010, 07:16 AM
Nuke
6th Gear Member