Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

installation of JBA shorties

Old 01-02-2011, 03:59 PM
5POINTOH
2nd Gear Member

Default installation of JBA shorties

I was wondering how hard is it to do this install myself. I was looking through the following thread on a BBK shorty install and it doesnt sound and look too bad:

http://www.mustangmonthly.com/techar...ers/index.html

I am have heard that installing headers can be a PITA for DIY's. I am not an expert weekend mechanic by any means.....though I have started to learn to do some work on my own car. From doing some research and looking over the infamous TacoBill's write-ups, I have been able to do the following mods on my car in the last year:

1. Exhaust: Flowmaster axlebacks and Pypes offroad H pipe
2. Hurst Shifter
3. FRPP lowering springs
4. Steeda UDP
5. Stack Racing front grille
6. Spoiler store GT500 rear spoiler
7. Swapped out my valve covers to have them powder coated
8. Rotorpros crossed drilled/slotted rotors

So I am wondering am I in over my head here with the shorty headers?? I would imagine this would be the most challenging job to date.

Has anyone else with modest mechanical skills like me done this install on their own? Does anyone know of any good DIY write-ups anywhere.
Old 01-02-2011, 09:22 PM
5POINTOH
2nd Gear Member

Wow 162 views and no replies......there has got to be some of you who have installed shorties
Old 01-02-2011, 09:53 PM
Nuke
6th Gear Member

I can't comment on the install, but I'm curious why you want to go to the trouble. Yes, shorties (and LT's) can be a tough install and the shorties gains are minimal at best. If it's for sound, then I might get it but sound can be changed for a lot less aggravation.
Old 01-02-2011, 10:06 PM
5POINTOH
2nd Gear Member

For me there is two reasons why I am not doing the LT's.