Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

New b wants to build my 08 gt

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2011, 04:47 PM
Dalpilot

Default New b wants to build my 08 gt

Hey guys im pretty new to the Mustang world and honestly to the gasser world. Im a diesel guy but I always wanted a Mustang, so i bought an 08 with 22k on it. Im wanting to make it fun for now so im planning a blower on the stock motor and drivetrain. From reading it looks like 500 is pushing the max for stock.

I know me, so 500 will be great for a while, but then Im going to want more, so with that, id like to find a block and start building something bullit proof for later. I have no problems building it mechanically, but i dont know what block, heads etc will work, and what internals seem to be the best to use. Forgive my ignorance, but suggestions would be appreciated. I think 700 would be more than enough for what i want, ive got my Ranger for the track and from what i see, traction is tough anyway. Supporting mods are needed too,i know, and there isnt really a time frame, and my budget is not a huge deal, but I dont want to be stupid either.

Thanks
Old 02-02-2011, 07:45 PM
SpartaPerformance
4th Gear Member

M-6009-A463V is all you need to know. It's a complete Ford Racing short block with forged internals. As for heads you can use stock ones if/when yours goes boom. If you want to build a complete long block then you can get the CNC ported heads from Livernois or Ford Racing.
Old 02-02-2011, 07:52 PM
Dalpilot

Thanks, but say i wanted to piece it together slower, example, buy a block now, buy the crank later, rods, etc..... And slowly build a block from the ground up, more out of fun then anything else, would any 4.6 block work, like out of another year, or truck, or a car?

The complete short block is definitely an option, but im thinking I'd like a slow build in the garage.
Old 02-02-2011, 10:10 PM
Simon1
5th Gear Member