Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

Cold and altitude supercharger recommendations?

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2011, 07:01 PM
wcgman
5th Gear Member

Default Cold and altitude supercharger recommendations?

Im new to the FI scene. I have a 2010GT that The Boss gave me the green light on boosting it. I live in Denver and occasionally get up in the mountains, but figure 5500 ft. on a regular basis. Also, I do drive in the cold and occasionally am at work when the snow starts to fly...I get outta there before anything sticks tho.

The question is at this altitude and with temps dropping below freezing on a fairly consistent basis in winter, what SC options should I look at and also how should I drive differently to prevent damage to the SC or engine components? Those are things I never thought about until reading other folks having problems with running at high altitude or cold temps and causing damage, even when installs are done by pros like Brenspeed.

My first inclination was to get hooked up with a Saleen SC at Brenspeed, but now I'm rethinking the FI thing completely...maybe I should be looking at Turbos? Heck I dont know! Your educated and experienced input is appreciated! Thanks
Old 12-12-2011, 05:24 AM
outceltj
5th Gear Member