Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

Happy broken plug new year to me!

Old 01-01-2014, 07:21 PM
edman49

Default Happy broken plug new year to me!

On new year's eve, I cracked all eight of the plugs on my '06 gt a 1/16 turn. It took a huge amount of force just to do that much. I squirted in deep creep, and waited until this afternoon, Jan.01,2014! The very first plug turned out broken! The deep creep hardly even moved after nearly a full day! At least two other plugs are broken too, as they feel like the first one. I just shut the hood and forgot about it, as today is a holiday! I feel betrayed by Ford! I want an official to fly out, and remove all my plugs himself! Now I will have to drive another car to work, and I have not even bought the Lisle tool, because I studied the net and You-tube for a week loading myself with info, enough to make me think I would not break a single plug! Yesterday, when I used the torque wrench to "crack" loose the plugs, it went to 50 just to get that far! That probably broke some right there! I left out twenty curse words to shorten this post! Now I have to load myself with info about "broken" plugs, which was not on my to-do list! Happy New Year! edman49-out
Old 01-05-2014, 09:40 PM
edman49

OK, four plugs cam out clean. Two broke off just right for the Lisle tool, they are now out. The seventh broke just right, but with the elctrode sticking out an inch. What do I do about that? The eighth one had the hex body come up fine, but the porcelain is not broken, so it just spins on the body. What do I do about that? My needle nose pliers won't reach either, so I have a tools to buy, any advice? Tell me what you did so I can get my four day parked car back on the road! thanks, edman49
Old 01-05-2014, 09:45 PM
edman49