Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

Lean Code + Funky AFR readings = Worried (with video)

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2015, 12:44 AM
6605stang
3rd Gear Member

Default Lean Code + Funky AFR readings = Worried (with video)

So at an autocross event a couple weeks back I stopped for gas at a crappy gas station prior and then 15 minutes later, I threw a p171/174 set of codes. Car seemed to be running fine though. Cleared it... it came back. Thought maybe I got some bad gas... putz'd the tank empty, filled with good gas... same thing. And since the beginning I started paying closer attention to my AFR gauge and I'll be honest, it's doing some weird things, but I'm not an expert to say what is SHOULD be reading at all times so I'm a bit confused. What do find odd is that it appears to be going full lean when I go to neutral after throttle (even very little throttle). And at idle it seems to be having a very hard time finding the right spot to rest (presumablely around 14.5). But honestly, this is the first time I've EVER had a potential fuel/lean issue with a car, so I'm (1) freaked out and (2) clueless. Below is a link to some video I took of my wideband gauge while doing some different driving around the neighborhood. Pardon the shakey vertical video, but it's the best I could do.

Thoughts? Ideas of what I need to check/try next?

PS - yes, my oil pressure gauge is disconnected.

Any helpful thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

JR
Old 04-12-2015, 08:48 AM
jwog666
5th Gear Member

check your fuel pressure, check and clean your MAF and check to make sure there are no leaks between your MAF and throttle body.
Old 04-12-2015, 09:41 AM
6605stang
3rd Gear Member

Originally Posted by jwog666
check your fuel pressure, check and clean your MAF and check to make sure there are no leaks between your MAF and throttle body.