Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

newbie here, what's best bang for your buck HP gains?

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2016, 06:29 PM
HFCA

Default newbie here, what's best bang for your buck HP gains?

Ok I've been researching and the AEK CAI sounds pretty good, I have an 06 GT, 4.6, 5 speed auto, lowered all factory options, dual exhaust, it's quick - I dont need to go crazy, just a bit faster! LOL Perhaps a tune by local shop?
Old 05-09-2016, 08:24 PM
danzcool
5th Gear Member

So a tuner and tune is the starting point, you will get a better performance with a dyno tune, but you'll only gain a few horsepower over a mail order tune for a couple of hundred dollars more. Cold air intake in itself pretty much only gives you 5-10, the tune gives you about 25.
beyond that, probably the best is adding nitrous oxide, but you have to pay to fill the bottle all the time, going up from there it's probably forced induction supercharger/turbo... when you go there, then the supporting mods really start meaning something.
However people usually have a budget and never plan on even spending for a supercharger kit, and so going at it $400 at a time with bolt-ons that add a few horsepower each until they've spent supercharger prices and only have +75RWHP instead of the 200+ RWHP they would have with a supercharger. Take a look at the typical bolt-ons and you can see how it can add up quick, headers, offroad X or H pipe, cat back exhaust, cold air intake, throttle body, intake manifold, cams, electric water pump, underdrive pulley...

The best thing is to take a step back and decide what you really want so you don't spend twice for something, like if you get an intake manifold and then get a positive displacement blower, you can't use the intake manifold anymore, or getting the underdrive pulley and then deciding to go supercharger since the belt now spins slower...
Old 05-10-2016, 07:27 AM
ghunt