MustangForums.com

MustangForums.com (https://mustangforums.com/forum/index.php)
-   4.6L V8 Technical Discussions (https://mustangforums.com/forum/4-6l-v8-technical-discussions-69/)
-   -   Sneaky Coolant Leak Fixed (https://mustangforums.com/forum/4-6l-v8-technical-discussions/737032-sneaky-coolant-leak-fixed.html)

66and06stangs 03-12-2019 09:18 AM

Sneaky Coolant Leak Fixed

I am not good at video-ing while fixing things so this post is the best I can do. I own a 2006 GT Convertible automatic. I've only had it about 5 months, it has been a real problem child. Anyway, I found myself on the side of the road not long after buying the car, it just lost all power while going down the road, the motor just let off and I coasted to the side of the road. It was strange, it would idle fine (actually sounded good) but had no power when I put it into gear. Got it towed home... trying to figure it out I read that there are some nice sensors built into the heads that will shut down some of the cylinders if it overheats. I went, "uh, overheats?". Looked at the coolant overflow, completely empty. <<<puzzled looks>>>. Bought 2 gallons of the preferred coolant that I looked up online, thinking I'll keep a gallon around just in case. Oh, btw, I've never seen a damn drip or leak anywhere, this is what puzzled me greatly. Anyway, after putting both gallons into the car and it was still slightly low, I'm really baffled.... until one day I was toying with the car and took it for a spin around the block. I kinda horsed it, I ripped it around a corner or two, just feeling that 300hp 4.6. When I get back into the driveway, I notice a leak!!! Yes, it is coolant, but it is on the passenger side about the middle of the car... more puzzling looks - how the hell would coolant be way back there dripping?