4 Cylinder NA and Turbo This section is for questions pertaining to stock or modified 4 cylinders, including the performance 2.3L applications

A few questions about a 2.3t swap.

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2009, 12:12 AM
Babybudistmonk
2nd Gear Member

Default A few questions about a 2.3t swap.

Well guys, I sealed the deal and I have an 88 turbo coupe ready for a swap into my 93 mustang lx!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I have been reading as many articles about this swap as i can, but i do have a couple questions. I'm not an expert with turbo chargers and fuel injection, planning on learning as I go.

If my new 2.3 block is good, still i decent shape internally and all i would have to do is a quick re-hone so I can reuse all the parts, pistons, connecting rods, etc. and I did some porting and polishing in the head and exhaust manifold, my be add a roller cam, what kind of power would I be looking at? I dont have a lot of money to throw around right now, but I do have the skill to do a good port and polish job and other various things. Also, I have seen many pictures of the upper intake manifold turned 90 degrees, is there any advantage to that or is it mainly to give it a modified look?

And one more thing before I forget. I have read that you should use the original wire harness out of my mustang and re-pin it at the computer and do some additional mods to make it work. Why would you do that instead of just swapping the wiring harnesses? seams easier, but there has to be a reason why you would do this.

Thanks for your help and im sure many more questions will come up as I start to dig into it!
Old 06-05-2009, 07:05 AM
mustang2.3
2nd Gear Member

swaping wiring harnesses is alot harder than it sounds you have to pull the whole dash out Repining is alot easier than it seems pull wire here put it there pruty much that simple you also have to change the pigtail on the VAM and do a little wiring on the ignition wiring since your 93 is Coiled the 88 had DIS.