4 Cylinder NA and Turbo This section is for questions pertaining to stock or modified 4 cylinders, including the performance 2.3L applications

Im new to mustangs. 88 LX 2.3 questions.

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2010, 10:54 PM
amorgan93

Exclamation Im new to mustangs. 88 LX 2.3 questions.

I just got a 88 mustang 2.3 all in primer, no symbols. but i found an LX sticker inside the car. Im guessing its an LX. im trying to understand the difference in models. i know the mustangs came with the N/A 2.3, the turbo 2.3, the 5.0, and the 5.0 HO. But on advanceautoparts.com when i select what type of car i have, the Mustang LX only has the 5.0L option. The Mustang GT also has the 5.0, which i know is the faster. So is my mustang a LX, or what? Its an automatic, im guessing the A4lD, however the overdrive on the gear selector doesnt engage. according to some research ive done, the A4ld is very easy to break and is a cheap transmission. Actually supposedly the whole 4 cylinder car is junk cause it has junk suspension and crappy transmission and a motor that has no potential for power, unless tons and tons of dollars are spent on it. This is my first 2 door car and my first car that is rwd, and i like the idea of it, but if the whole car is junk im just going to put a dirt cheap price tag and move on to some other car. So give me some of your advice, and encourage me to keep it theres got to be some reason to keep the car, besides the gas mileage. Anyways, if theres any more information you can give me about the fox body mustangs, besides the little bit wikipedia has, i would greatly appreciate it. Thanks

also does the 2.3 N/A LX cars have sway bars? front, rear, what? any good? my suspension is shot, so any recommendations for good stiff shocks, i want good handling.
Old 10-27-2010, 09:06 PM
zonker
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by amorgan93