5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

More Traction... smoother ride... free!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2006, 05:34 PM
89gtsleeper
2nd Gear Member

Default More Traction... smoother ride... free!!!!!

Ok, so pulled the sway bar and put the battery in the trunk with a 40 dollar kit, and my traction went from non-existent to hooking all through 2nd on street tires... I've never done that before... Also, you know how your stock suspended 5.0 rides so ****ty and bumpy all the time... Pull the sway bar and it will ease alot of the bumpiness in the front. I did some research on this, and the factory front sway bar is overly stiff... I drive this car every day to work, and the track, and anywhere else I feel like going, and can honestly say my car does not feel any less stable or safe without the sway bar. Between that and the battery over the right rear tire, I honestly believe I just picked up 3 tenths on the 1/4.... Never been able to pull a sub 2.1 60 foot time, and was pulling 13.2, so this should get me in the 12 second zone. I'll keep you guys posted after friday night, and we'll see how much difference that, and a UPR boost pipe w/ custom ram air kit will make!!!
Old 05-30-2006, 06:18 PM
settled4automatic
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: More Traction... smoother ride... free!!!!!

i had an 87 with no front sway bar, my 88 has the sway bar --- i noticed a HUGE difference between body roll and cornering. glad it worked out for you though
Old 05-30-2006, 06:39 PM
88BlueGT
6th Gear Member

Glad you like it... I know a few people who run without the front sway bar and most dont have a problem with it.
Old 05-30-2006, 06:57 PM
r.barn
6th Gear Member

you might check out MaximumMotorSports too. they sell a reduced stiffness swaybar.
Old 05-30-2006, 07:05 PM
WizardBlack
1st Gear Member