5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Starting to put back together.....

Old 08-08-2006, 04:31 PM
Ninety5five0
5th Gear Member

Default Starting to put back together.....

so my motor has been apart since before last winter. First off, i'm new to all of this, so that was takin along time, and then i ran out of money. So i got some money now to buy the rest of the parts. I already go the heads ( gt40P ). I'm either set on the trickflow stage 1 cam or an E or B cam. Anyone have any advice between those 3 ?

My heads have different valves and springs....I'm not too sure of the specs of them tho. Should i stick with my stock rockers ? or maybe get some 1.7's ?

I still need to get all the gaskets too.....I hear that felpro, victor reinz, detroit are all good choices for gaskets.

I mightas well replace my timing chain while im there too....should i go with a factory replacement ? any advice on that ?

If my funding is still available, i was plannin on replacing the upper/lower intake too. I was lookin at the gt40 just because it seems like it flows pretty good, and isnt too expensive. I'm gonna need some 24# injectors with that, so my next question would be mass airflow sensor. Can i use on from a cobra ? Or should i get one otherwise ? Any suggestions ?

Fuel pump.....Think its worth it or necessary to replace it ?

Also, i'm prolly gonna need to get a good tune after everything is together. Should i go for a dyno tune ? I hear that sn95's dont like mods very well, and its hard for em to get used to them.

Sorry about all the questions and such, i just need to get thsi car back together as fast as i can. Now all i need is someone that knows what theyre doin so it doesnt take me a month to bolt everything on.
Old 08-08-2006, 04:50 PM
Scout2232
4th Gear Member

Default RE: Starting to put back together.....