5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Project car

Old 07-06-2004, 09:38 PM
jeff_h

Default Project car

Hi guys and gals....

New to the forum, but have gotten some good info by reading. Thanks!

Here's the situation....

I want to build a car this fall/winter and have decided to do a Mustang. I have built cars in the past, but I have no "toy" at the moment. I miss that!

I'm looking for a 94-95 GT convertible (not Cobra) as we speak (preferably stock) and plan the following:

347 Stroker (forged components)
Trick Flow Twisted Wedge/Track Heat induction kit (heads, u/l intake, cam, etc.) It's in the Summit catalog.
MSD ignition
BBK exhaust
Tremec or Richmond Gear 6 speed
Urethane suspension stuff
Performance upper/lower control arms
Coil overs in the front
Saleen body kit

You get the picture.

Anyhoo, I have never done a Mustang before. Both my dad and my sister (younger sister [:@]) have Cobras (1996 for the sis, 2001 for the dad), but I really want to do a 5.0, not a modular. I can do all the mechanical/electrical/whatever myself, I'll just have to job out the machining and paint.

I'm looking for tips/suggestions/"No way dude, don't do that!" kind of info.

FWIW, I'm not a kid. My wife and I do have 1 though. I'm in my mid thirties and have an engineering degree.

TIA,

Jeff
Old 07-06-2004, 09:55 PM
mdvaldosta
I ♥ Acer

Default RE: Project car

Welcome to the forums Jeff. You know what would be sweeter than a 347 in that car? A 408 stroker (351w block) with big AFR heads, performer RPM intake, nice big roller cam, etc.