5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Newbie here and already have a ?

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2004, 09:45 AM
ParrotHead
2nd Gear Member

Default Newbie here and already have a ?

Hi all. New to the forum here. Hope that I do not ask a question that has been answered a million times but I am wondering about MODS. I have a 95GT and I am going to start on it soon. I have restrored and built up a 68GT fastback and never had a problem with the motor. Now that I am working on something with a conputer I am worried that all the MODS that I am going to put on will not work due to the computer. MODS that I am going to put on soon as a MAS, throttle body, headers with an H-pipe and full exhuast with flow masters. 3.73 gears. On the gear subject, what odometer gear am I going to have to use in it now? Someday I want to change the upper and lower intake. Any comments will be greatly appreciated. Thanks all.
Old 07-14-2004, 12:34 PM
89vertgt
1st Gear Member

Default RE: Newbie here and already have a ?

I'm not positive, but I think the stock computer will not hinder those MODS....but you may think about getting a programmable computer chip...that would ease your worries
Old 07-15-2004, 02:16 AM
ParrotHead
2nd Gear Member

Hey, thanks. I will do the work on it soon and hope all turns out well. If not I will spend the money on a programable chip. Thanks again.
Old 07-15-2004, 02:29 AM
sc94gt
3rd Gear Member

I have the same model type as you, Parrothead.
What kind of headers are you going to install?
I just installed equal length stubbies on mine. They were a tight fit, but oh so sweet!

If I had to do it all over again I would have gone to Aubuchan Hardware and got some allen head bolts, instead on using the regualr supplied header bolts.
They were so hard to torque down or even get a torque wrench on them at all.