Notices
5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Oil capacity on 5.0?

Old 11-06-2006, 04:05 PM
  #1  
oldstinky
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 36
Default Oil capacity on 5.0?

I change the oil. Both plugs pulled. Put in 5 quarts. Was way over the dipstick. Book says five quarts. Is there something I am missing?
oldstinky is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 04:06 PM
  #2  
Ninety5five0
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 3,311
Default RE: Oil capacity on 5.0?

Did you run it ? It is 5 quarts
Ninety5five0 is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 04:06 PM
  #3  
WhiteFoxGT
Resident Ford Troll
 
WhiteFoxGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Delaware
Posts: 6,384
Default RE: Oil capacity on 5.0?

Yea, start the car and let it idle for about 30 seconds, then re-check it. It should be perfect
WhiteFoxGT is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 04:08 PM
  #4  
88BlueGT
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 15,042
Default RE: Oil capacity on 5.0?

My car never takes 5. Maybe 4 1/2
88BlueGT is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 04:09 PM
  #5  
primetime5.0
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 9,586
Default RE: Oil capacity on 5.0?

my car takes 5
primetime5.0 is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 04:09 PM
  #6  
2 kwik
I ♥ Acer
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 5,116
Default RE: Oil capacity on 5.0?

on some of the late 88 and 89's the dipstick was a qt off..my 89 25th dipstick was off by a qt
2 kwik is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 04:12 PM
  #7  
88BlueGT
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 15,042
Default RE: Oil capacity on 5.0?

damn thats not good. So should I start running 5qts even if my dipstick is telling my Im full? I dont want to overfill. And my car is a 93.
88BlueGT is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 04:12 PM
  #8  
capnacee
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location:
Posts: 231
Default RE: Oil capacity on 5.0?

Mine takes 4 1/2 qts, but like they said,should be 5 qts...Take it with a grain a salt.lol
capnacee is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 04:44 PM
  #9  
2 kwik
I ♥ Acer
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 5,116
Default RE: Oil capacity on 5.0?

i always use 5 quarts
2 kwik is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 04:52 PM
  #10  
Ninety5five0
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 3,311
Default RE: Oil capacity on 5.0?


ORIGINAL: 2 kwik

i always use 5 quarts
+1
Ninety5five0 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Oil capacity on 5.0?


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.