5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Underdrive pulleys causeing really low volts???

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2007, 11:38 PM
Mowin8603
3rd Gear Member

Default Underdrive pulleys causeing really low volts???

ok this is really weird to me and im not really good with wireing. but the problem is is my 87' GT always seems to have low volts, like while im driving it with the heat on and the head lights it has a hard time staying out of the red on the gauge. but during the day while i dont have the heat or the lights on its fine, it stays just under the middle dash on the gauge. now im sure your thinking that the atl is crappin out, ya i thought that to.. had it checked and its fine. just put a new battery in it to like a week ago. my dad says that i have what he calls a "dead short" somewhere and thats whats draining it. but i can leave the car overnight or not drive it all day and then get in it and itll be fine. its just when the car is running and i have a lot of accessories on and it stays at idle for a while, it seems like the alt cant keep up. the car does have underdrive pulleys and i have the stockers, so im going to put those on tomarrow and see if it makes a difference, but it looks to me like the stock alt pulley is still on the car.. all this is just really weird to me because i cant think of anything else that could be wrong other than the underdrive pulleys? anyone got any ideas what else this might be so that i can check it out after i change the pulleys tomarrow?[/align][/align]oh heres an example of how the car is acting: i got in it today, started up just fine and was actually a notch or two above the middle on the volts gauge. drove it around started it a another time or two, everything was ok. then it got dark out, i got hungry and went to the choke and puke and idled a little while in the drive up with