5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

New to Late Models and 5.0 feels like it hesitates

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2007, 09:25 PM
yellow351mustang

Default New to Late Models and 5.0 feels like it hesitates

Was wondering if anyone can help me. I am new to late model Mustangs, have owned classics for years. After having to sell my '69 Fastback with a 351 Windsor a while back for financial reasons (yes this killed me!!), I have been able to acquire a really nice '88 GT from a dear friend (Back in the saddle again). The car is in (rare) fantastic shape with low mileage and a mostly stock Speed Density 5.0L except for a 2.5" MAC Cat-back that sounds GREAT! My question to you all is, I'm happy with the cars performance and drive ability except for a hesitation or a feeling of the engine falling flat above 3000 RPM. It doesn't matter if I accelerate from standing stop or if I'm on the highway and want to down shift and pass. It feels flat above 3000. The exhaust sounds sweet and makes wonderful noise, but just doesn't feel like it is pulling as hard as I expected a HO 5.0 to pull. Maybe I'm still to used to the 351, but really doesn't feel like it pulls any harder than the 4.0L OHV in my Explorer. I don't have much money, so big expensive engine mods are out (for now), including the MAF conversion. The person that owned the car before me did all of the usual freebie mods: remove silencer, adjusted TPS, K&N filter (Well not free) and of course the Cat-back (stock 4 CAT H-pipe). Below 3000 it feels great, good and strong. So I don't know if there is something simple I can do or am just stuck with the way it is. I did check the plugs back over the summer and they look normal. It passed our state emissions test with amazing flying colors. The guy even said this car runs cleaner then other cars that he sees that are 10 years newer.