5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

help with installations....

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2005, 09:01 PM
luvdemstangs

Default help with installations....

whats up fellas. i'm a newbie to the forum and just had a question on installing a few things on a newly built engine. i was given a 306 built longblock (minus the oil pump/pan, front cover, and balancer) thats going into my 1990 gt. i just want to make sure i install everything correctly. i wouldn't want anything to go wrong after i install the engine in the car. so, i was going to use a little rvt silicone on the gaskets for the oil pan and front cover, that should be fine right? i'm going to have to rent a tool for the balancer so i know that aint going to be hard to install. one other thing concerning me is how do i correctly install the distributor? i know the cam timing is all set and i don't want to install the distributor the wrong way and either the cam or distributor gear, oil pump/shaft, or god forbid anything else to get ****ed up. want everything to run smooth when its all said and done, i know you guys understand. any help would be great. thanks.
Old 01-30-2005, 09:28 PM
86HOGT
5th Gear Member

Default RE: help with installations....

For the front cover...don't use any sealer. On the oil pan use sealer at the four corners by the mean bearing caps, cause if you don't, she'll leak.