5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

92 overheating <<please help>>

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2007, 01:57 AM
dannodachef

Default 92 overheating <<please help>>

Hello everyone,
This is my first time on this forum, I searched around a little and didn't see anything that really helped. I am sorry for the long story, but I am hoping someone out there can help.
My grandmother is old an no longer drives. She wants to give me her 92 5.0 convertable automaticthat my late grandfather bought her brand new off the show room floor. It is red,w/white leather and oly has 43xxx on it. The problem is that she lives in cali, and me in oregon about 14 hr drive away. I took a flight to see her and drive the car back home.
Well I got about 6 blocks away from her house and the throttle peddle gets stuck down. I shut the car off, pull over and look under the hood to see there is a broken piece on the throttle body. not the cable to the peddle but another black plastic piece that I assumed was the cruise control. I move it aside, start the car and everything seems fine so I continue. I get on the free way and within a few minutes I see the car is getting hot. I imdediately pull off the freeway and the car is dripping some coolant from the overflow. So walked to a parts store that just happened to be a block away (lucky me) and get a few tools, gasket seelant, and a thermostat. I also got a plastic gromet and a clip because once I got on the free way I noticed the car didn't shift correctly. I attach the the piece on the throttle body securely, then pulled out the old thermostat, and trying to be somewhat safe I just left theit out so there would be no restrictions in coolant flow.