5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Porting And Polishing questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2007, 09:27 AM
wildsurfer92
3rd Gear Member

Default Porting And Polishing questions

Hey guys, I am thinking about porting and polishing my cylinder heads, and upper and lower intake. I am going to the junk yard and picking up gt-40 heads and intake and since they are so cheap i figured id give it a shot.. Now this is my first time at this, so I have no idea what the tools needed are. So if anyone could give me input that would be great
Old 09-29-2007, 09:28 PM
wildsurfer92
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: Porting And Polishing questions

anyone?
Old 09-29-2007, 09:37 PM
ZachW04Stang
5th Gear Member

Going to crazy rays I take it? I've pulled a couple sets from there, your gonna need basic wrench set, basic socket set (standard and metric), a big rachet to break head bolts loose, a long pry bar to break the stainless manifolds, starp cutting tool to cut wires braided line, heavy duty hammer helps clear stuff out of the way, pliers for some stuff. Your gonna need a long extension to remove the heater and evaporator box.
Old 09-29-2007, 09:42 PM
wildsurfer92
3rd Gear Member

yea man you know it! gotta love crazy rays...yea i am heading up there this week, probably to the one in jessup, and if thats a no go, then ill be heading over to mt. airey...but do you know of what tools i need to do the actual porting and polishing?
Old 09-29-2007, 09:42 PM
wildsurfer92
3rd Gear Member

oh and beside 99 explorers and mountaineers, what other cars came with the gt-40 heads and manifolds?
Old 09-29-2007, 09:46 PM
ZachW04Stang
5th Gear Member

Your gonna need carbide bits, polishing bits and a air grinder.
Old 09-29-2007, 09:48 PM
wildsurfer92
3rd Gear Member