5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

carb vs fuel injection

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2007, 07:03 PM
djcondo
2nd Gear Member

Default carb vs fuel injection

i have fuel injection now and i am new to playing with fuel injection. It seems like it would be so much simpler to just swap to a carb on my 92. Is there alot that needs to be done or is it basically just change the intake with a carb intake manifold, re route some fuel lines and linkage or is a whole lot harder to do. would i loose power if i did this? my engine is stock basically. it jsut seems cheaper to do and my friend has the intake.
Old 10-31-2007, 07:28 PM
Dave5point0
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: carb vs fuel injection

The reason everything went from carb to f.i. is because of horsepower, reliability, and tuning. It would involve more work then you think, and i don't think its a good idea. If you were doing a ground up build for "pinks" or something and you build it big then it might be an ok idea for a track car but not daily driver.
Old 10-31-2007, 07:48 PM
GaryBisiniere
3rd Gear Member

ya i switched to carb because it was cheaper at the time and now i regret it and i am switching back!
Old 10-31-2007, 07:58 PM
psyche116
1st Gear Member

you wouldn't probably lose power, per say. but you would lose a bit of reliability and probably (although not guaranteed) lose a bit of gas mileage. and carbs don't like starting in the cold.

to make the switch, though, in addition to what you have listed, you need to get a new fuel pump all set up for the much lower carburetor fuel pressures or at least a regulator of some sort.
Old 10-31-2007, 09:39 PM
mjr46
D.R. THE PATHETIC DORK

ORIGINAL: psyche116