5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

can i put 4bbl on fuel inj/blk and keep cam

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2007, 05:53 PM
oldford

Default can i put 4bbl on fuel inj/blk and keep cam

hello im new to classic cars and im restoring?? a but not orginal 1966 mustang ..... i bought a 1988 5.0,, HO roller engine..... and done all my switches to make it work ,,but i may of overlooked a ONE.. important issue......... i left the stk cam for the fuel inj in.... and put a 4bbl intake and carb on it,,,,,it seems to run great under power at high rpm,s and idles great in park (but when i put it in drive.. at idle..... foot on brake it runs ext ruff) ......14 hg vac@ idle in park..... 6-7 hg vac@in drive at idle ......23 hg vac steady @ 1/3 throdle.......... so i think the cam may the issue ........... anyone ever done this swap and not change cam b4
Old 11-18-2007, 05:55 PM
Hamutoff
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: can i put 4bbl on fuel inj/blk and keep cam

If you are saying that you put a 5.0 HO with the roller cam in your 66 mustang and then used a carburator, then YES the cam is a wonderful cam! IT works awesome when switched to carb.
Please tell me what did you do for a distributor?
Also its possible you may have vaccuum leaks....maybe try spraying around the intake with carb cleaner but be careful have a fire extinguisher handy[&:] listen for the idle to change... if it does then the area you just sprayed is leaking

For fun and to learn I swapped a 1986 5.0 into a 1989 formerly 4 banger.... I used the distributor from the 1985ish cars, had it recurved for nitrous and the vaccum adv pulled... even with a single plane intake the car idled so damn smooth.... so very streetable so steady, I really really wanted to daily drive it but of course no way in CA!!!!

http://www.thatmetalbox.com/89lx_mus...stang_main.htm