5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

what kind of mods can i go with speed density?

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2005, 12:54 PM
87 hatch
2nd Gear Member

Default what kind of mods can i go with speed density?

my 87 is completely stock and i am just learning about speed density (which i have) vs. mass air.

obviously mass air is better but what can i do to get more hp without converting to mass air?

what should and shouldnt i change before i convert?
Old 03-15-2005, 01:11 PM
bmorrisj
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: what kind of mods can i go with speed density?

gears, heads, intake..... might as well convert to mass air if you want to get a cam.... as the SD eec needs normal vacuum range to operate properly....
Old 03-15-2005, 01:12 PM
83GT306
1st Gear Member

First off, I'm not a technician. but I believe you can buy a computer chip to remap the fuel curve and timing etc...for intake & exhaust mods, but don't change the cam until after you convert to MAF.
Although, why would you do any of that and waste the money?
You can get the stuff to convert for less than $500 bucks, and I'm told it's an immediate improvement in driveability over SD.

I'm in a similar position with an old '88 Lincoln LSC right now, SD runs good, but it's not a race car Mustang, so I just leave it alone for now.
Eventually, I'll do the conversion out of curiosity because I've heard so many wonderful testimonials about the difference.
I'm more interested in installing steeper rear gears first, instead of the ECU management, I might stop right there.
It's all about the money....what you have, who can give it to you quick.
Sometimes I think these sites encourage people to make irrational financial choices, but that's just an old fart with kids talkin'. lol

Get some 4.10 gears, you'll love 'em!!
Old 03-15-2005, 02:24 PM
mustang8719
3rd Gear Member