5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Thermostat question

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2008, 12:55 PM
Twisted
5th Gear Member

Default Thermostat question

My coolant temp is usually a little over 180 degrees once the car is fully warmed up...as measured by my Autometer gauge. If it's a hot day and I'm running the A/C, the temp may reach 195-200, but that's the hottest it ever gets. Even then, it will only stay that hot for a minute or so, and then the temp drops back down near 185. The temp seems to regulate itself to be a little over 180 most of the time. I'm wondering if the guys who changed my cooling system may have put in a 180 degree thermostat instead of the stock 195 degree unit. Given the running temperatures I've mentioned, does it sound like I have a 180 or 195 degree thermostat? Thanks.
Old 03-26-2008, 01:16 PM
WhiteWindsor
5th Gear Member

Default RE: Thermostat question

I thought stock was 192? If your ok with the temp i would not be concerned with which one they put in there. I would imagine though that they put the stock one in there unless you specified differently, the 180' is usually a few bucks more.
Old 03-26-2008, 01:45 PM
89GreyStang

Hmm.. It sounds like you have a 180 is in your system. In a 195 setup it usually hovers in the 192-195 range.

I have found that with a good radiator the range you are seeing is usually the setting of the therm.

FAST... You are right. Stock is 195.

G
Old 03-26-2008, 02:48 PM
Twisted
5th Gear Member