5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Intake/Airflow discussion for a newbie

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2008, 02:08 PM
cgolden87

Default Intake/Airflow discussion for a newbie

Ok guys so I’m a bit of a newbie at this so bear with me. I have been thinking about upgrading my whole intake system, filter to lower plenum. But I don’t want to make the mistake of having to buy the same part twice, I want it all to work the first time. From my understanding, and based on what I have learned from others, the idea is to get more air in there faster and with as little turbulence as possible to help the engine breath better. So go bigger throttle body, intake, etc. But at the same time bigger is not always better if the parts don’t match properly.

If I put a 75mm throttle body on and don’t match the rest then I’m going to create a bottle neck point where the openings don’t match and that choke point will create less clean flow going into my intake. I planned on using the Cobra intake from Ford Racing but I don’t know the opening size. I assume that it must be the stock 65mm, but if anyone knows for sure that would help. Another question I have is if I buy that intake can I have a shop polish it and possibly bore the opening open another 5mm to bring it up to 70mm and increase the airflow. After that I could get a larger throttle body, mass airflow, and cold air intake. Also, I noticed several companies sell throttle body spacers, has anyone used those and found that they make a real difference? I think I would do all of the work this summer and do it all in one shot so I want to get a parts list together. Any suggestions on those parts and what you all would recommend based on previous experiences would be greatly appreciated.