5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Newbie Here.......5.0 Fox Questions!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2008, 10:37 PM
grindman620
2nd Gear Member

Talking Newbie Here.......5.0 Fox Questions!!

Hey everyone,

I am a newbie to this forum, I actually have been on the Mustang********** forum for about a year now, so I am pretty familiar with the forum setup. Anyways, I have a 2008 Black 4.0 Pony that I picked up last year and I love it to death. My only problem is that its a 4.0 lol. I wanted a V8 of course, but being a college student cannot afford many aspects of it (gas, insurance, etc.). So I think the next best thing for me to do is buy a used Fox Body Mustang and work with that.

My questions for you guys is really going to help me with my decisions on buying one sometime soon. So I appreciate all types of feedback!

1. I have noticed that on a lot of websites that sell products for the 5.0's that most of their items are for "87-93". What about for example the 86 models? It seems like there is a lot less options for those years. Do you think I should stay with an 87+ Fox? I just want that availability for myself.

2. I am on a budget of course, but I am looking for the "cleanest" stang. Besides the obvious rust, or body damage and a clean engine bay, what else would you guys say is important to look for in shopping for a used Fox?

3. I have the option of possibly buying a used 1986 Mustang that started life out as a 4 cyl. , but now has a 302 in it (not sure exactly what year). Do you foresee any problems that may need to be addressed right away before I start to mod it the way I want to?

Well that's all the questions I have so far, so hopefully you guys can help me out here! Thanks a lot.
Old 09-25-2008, 10:44 PM
Shelty
5th Gear Member