retorquing lower intake after running engine - MustangForums.com

Go Back  MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > 5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang
Reload this Page >

retorquing lower intake after running engine

5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

retorquing lower intake after running engine

Reply

 
 
 
Old 11-22-2008, 02:15 PM
  #1  
camaroeater
4th Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
camaroeater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,219
Default retorquing lower intake after running engine

just installed an explorer intake and i heard that after you install the lower intake, that you need to retorque it after running the engine. Is this absolutely necessary? As for the install it went good. I just fired it up, added coolant and checked the oil and it doesn't look like coolant mixed with the oil. Should I change the oil to be safe before driving it. Thanks to all that recommended running a bead af black rtv for the front and lower seals.
camaroeater is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 03:13 PM
  #2  
Timspony
SVT Section Moderator
 
Timspony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Burnt Hills, NY
Posts: 15,601
Default

YES, retorque the lower after everthing has cooded down overnight! ...always a good idea to change the oil after an intake swap IMO...
Timspony is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 04:54 PM
  #3  
camaroeater
4th Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
camaroeater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,219
Default

i used a torque wrench to install the intake, but I don't have it anymore. Could I just give each bolt a little turn or do I have to break'em loose and then torque? I'm hoping I can do this w/o removing the upper. Oh and i changed the oil after I adjusted the timming.
camaroeater is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 10:36 PM
  #4  
primetime5.0
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 9,586
Default

ive never re torqued a lower after install, I always run through the pattern like 10 times though
primetime5.0 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 11:00 PM
  #5  
Joel5.0
5th Gear Member
 
Joel5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 3,926
Default

You don't need to re-torque it if you did it correctly. Torque to OEM value, let it sit for 1-hr, redo sequence order to max value........ set it and forget it. BTSTDT plenty of times.
Joel5.0 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 07:03 AM
  #6  
Timspony
SVT Section Moderator
 
Timspony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Burnt Hills, NY
Posts: 15,601
Default

...You need to use a tourque wrench! ...Go on the "Price is Right" if you want to guess!!...or take your chances and not re-tourque...I would take time to do it right!!

Last edited by Timspony; 11-23-2008 at 09:35 AM.
Timspony is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 09:31 AM
  #7  
Portmaster
5th Gear Member
 
Portmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: SC
Posts: 2,401
Default

Torque (using a torque wrench) the intake down to spec three times, let the intake set for 30 minutes and retorque again going through the patten 2 or three more times then assemble the rest. You'll be fine. Never had a failure
Portmaster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 01:09 PM
  #8  
camaroeater
4th Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
camaroeater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,219
Default

when i first installed lower i did the sequence in three steps(10-15-25) When i retorque it, will i break all bolts loose or one at a time and should I torque in 3 steps or just torque to 25lb?
camaroeater is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 05:24 PM
  #9  
uedlose
5th Gear Member
 
uedlose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Charles Town WV
Posts: 2,285
Default

I never re torqued any of the lowers I done on my own or customers have not had one give up yet. and I blow big boost on my stuff and so do some of my customers. But like said above I go over mine a few times but it would not hurt to do it.
uedlose is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 06:55 PM
  #10  
ALMOST STOCK
4th Gear Member
 
ALMOST STOCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Calif
Posts: 1,903
Default

Originally Posted by Joel5.0 View Post
You don't need to re-torque it if you did it correctly. Torque to OEM value, let it sit for 1-hr, redo sequence order to max value........ set it and forget it. BTSTDT plenty of times.
Exactly!!
ALMOST STOCK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
spectreman
Mustangs For Sale
23
03-31-2016 09:26 PM
JonnyBlazeGT
Mustangs For Sale
3
11-03-2015 01:10 AM
Gary Ugarek
Parts For Sale
1
09-05-2015 09:03 PM
inyadreems
Mustangs For Sale
2
08-21-2015 09:10 AM
djbigskrilla
2005-2014 Mustangs
13
08-11-2015 12:59 PM

Forum Jump

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory