5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

302 rebuild suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2008, 09:04 AM
Gjohnson

Default 302 rebuild suggestions

Hey guys, I'm new to Mustangs and have been searching through the tech articles and other post trying to get a good idea of how I want to rebuild my engine. Well, here's the situation. Currently I have a 1990 Nissan 240sx project car that I've been building for the past year and a half. When I bought the car it had a SR20det enging that was imported from Japan, but the previous owner beat on it pretty hard and it spun a bearing. I pulled the engine and bought another out of Florida. Upon inspecting my new purchase and installing I found that the new engine had a dead cylinder from a destroyed piston. So on the engine 3. At this point I have decided that I want some good old American Muscle under the hood, so my neighbor that has been teaching me how to work on cars is giving me a spare 302 that he had sitting in the shed. The 302 came out of his f-150 due to rod knock.

Ok, I say all that to say this. I need to rebuild this engine and I need some suggestions on what would be the best return on investment in the hp arena. I'm not going to have a large budget since I'm not sure what other compatability issues I might run into. So I was hoping to do the rebuild for under 2500. The really good think is that I'm going to get mosyt of the machine work done at discount because my neighbor's buddy owns the best machine shop in town. So considering my budget what would you guys recommend I focus on in this rebuild. From what I've read the best bang for the buck is going with aluminum heads but that seems kind of pricey for my budget.