5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Lifter going bad???

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2009, 05:09 PM
im_stuck_in_iraq
2nd Gear Member

Angry Lifter going bad???

Ok, well I am pretty sure that one of my lifters is going bad. When I first start it up (sits in garage cause of Wisconsin winters) it ticks kinda loud on the left side as your looking at the motor. I only have 68,XXX miles on it should it be having lifter issues already??? After it gets warm it seems like it doesn't tick as loud its a different sound. Kind of a tick but kinda not I don't know. I am by no means a mechanic, I have done breaks and oil change and tie rod ends simple things like that.

Do I need to change it? Is it hurting my motor/camshaft?? Should I change it? If somebody does change it should they change all of them?? Should I change anything else since the whole motor is already open?? Any ideas would be great. Thanks!

94 gt 5.0
Old 03-03-2009, 05:17 PM
mastermic
1st Gear Member

Did you try doing a seafoam treatment on it, could be deposits, run 1/3 thru the breakbooster vacuum line while idling hot. After 1/3 of the can is gone shut it off put the vacuum line back on and let it sit 10 min. Next restart it and blow all of the smoke out it will take a few miinutes to blow it all out. It will blow white smoke everywhere. When its done it may fix your tick.
Old 03-03-2009, 05:23 PM
im_stuck_in_iraq
2nd Gear Member

I have no idea what a break booster vacuum line is. Blow the smoke out of what?? Start the car and white smoke comes out? I am confused man I am a computer networker not a car guy, I want to learn though. Is that dangerous to do?
Old 03-03-2009, 06:15 PM
onebad88lx
1st Gear Member