missing at full throttle - MustangForums.com


5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-23-2009, 10:10 PM   #1  
mobilesolutions
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: wi
Posts: 2
Default missing at full throttle

i have been having a problem the last couple of weeks, when the car is under full throttle you can feel it miss quite often. it started out every once in awhile but now its doing it alot more, if you ease into the throttle it is fine it only does it when you floor it, it also smells like it is running very rich. i have replaced cap rotor wires and plugs but the problem is still there, what should i try next?
mobilesolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 11:53 PM   #2  
Genhero
1st Gear Member
 
Genhero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 98
Default

Is the car stock? Throwing any codes?
Genhero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 11:54 PM   #3  
redemption
3rd Gear Member
 
redemption's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location:
Posts: 607
Default

run codes
set tps .99
check timing
redemption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 12:21 AM   #4  
Genhero
1st Gear Member
 
Genhero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 98
Default

Could also run a cylinder balance test to try and find out what cylinder.
Genhero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 07:26 AM   #5  
mobilesolutions
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: wi
Posts: 2
Default

the car is mostly stock. wwe remover the smog pump and cats when we installed header back exhaust with x pipe. there is also a bbk cold air intake on it. it is not throwing any codes that i know of at least no cel but i ca scan to make sure.
i am going to have timing checked today, how do i set tps at .99?
could the coil be bad? when i bought the car it had almost no power, i replaced plugs wires etc and the power was there. i did have to clean the output terminal on the coil as it was very corroded, the car ran great with new parts and exhaust for 3 or 4 days then started to have this problem.
mobilesolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 07:56 AM   #6  
Genhero
1st Gear Member
 
Genhero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilesolutions View Post
the car is mostly stock. wwe remover the smog pump and cats when we installed header back exhaust with x pipe. there is also a bbk cold air intake on it. it is not throwing any codes that i know of at least no cel but i ca scan to make sure.
i am going to have timing checked today, how do i set tps at .99?
could the coil be bad? when i bought the car it had almost no power, i replaced plugs wires etc and the power was there. i did have to clean the output terminal on the coil as it was very corroded, the car ran great with new parts and exhaust for 3 or 4 days then started to have this problem.
If the coil is clean now, I would just throw some dielectric grease on it.

Just stick a multimeter to the tps wire and as long as it is .9 - 1.1 volts at idle and 4+ volts at WOT(test with ignition on and motor off) then it should be fine. On your model the green wire is what you will put the positive side of the multimeter to and either put the negative on the multimeter to the black wire or a good engine ground. If you want to adjust it you can loosen(not remove) the two bolts on the sensor.
Genhero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 08:43 AM   #7  
5.0stanger
6th Gear Member
 
5.0stanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Howard City, MI
Posts: 5,955
Default

I have the same problem and I think it comes from the position of my MAF in my CAI. I found that if I rotate it towards the engine about 10* it fixes it, if I put it back in the stock postion, it will start doing it again. Try and clock your MAF, clean it too while you are at it. Also, check for leaks in your CAI....that will cause a studder too.
5.0stanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 08:43 AM   #8  
Tony71502
5th Gear Member
 
Tony71502's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 2,459
Default

That happened to me when I put on cheapo spark plug wires. They were arcing to either the block or other plug wires. I put the factory wires back on and had no problems.
Tony71502 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The super moon with an eclipse twist coming to a sky near you tonight HRnB Off Topic 24 10-08-2015 12:12 AM
Starting a new project....could use some input. Matt's 95 Stang 5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang 2 10-05-2015 07:16 AM
Bad cylinder? Dathan V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs 4 10-05-2015 05:52 AM
So who wins uedlose The Racers Bench 4 10-01-2015 08:31 PM
V6 Project Problems ThatJuanStang V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs 4 09-25-2015 08:01 AM


Tags
1989, full, mustang, power, throttle

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.