Fuse blows/ No stereo - MustangForums.com

5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Fuse blows/ No stereo

Reply

 
 
 
Old 05-27-2011, 12:36 PM
  #1  
cholericfc
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
cholericfc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 580
Default Fuse blows/ No stereo

The #8 fuse (courtesy lamps; power mirrors; Radio; etc) keeps blowing...AND my head unit doesn't work.

The new fuse blows up right as I install it. That's without the key in the ignition.

-My Eclipse head unit is from 1999, I've disconnected it...
-I have a bunch of Auto Meter gauges that are connected, they all STILL light up, and work properly
-My amps are connected up fine.

Do you think my gauges are overloading a circuit that's connected to the other circuit, which components the #8 fuse supplies???

My head unit bad???
cholericfc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 12:49 PM
  #2  
cholericfc
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
cholericfc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 580
Default

If a new fuse is installed and it immediately blows, then the short is somewhere between the fuse box and the relay, RIGHT?

So, were could this relay be?
cholericfc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 06:07 AM
  #3  
ttocs
6th Gear Member
 
ttocs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 6,936
Default

could be anything from some metal in the cig lighter shorting it out to some loose wiring the cig lighter.
ttocs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 08:15 AM
  #4  
cholericfc
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
cholericfc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 580
Default

wait. The cig lighter is on the same circuit? haha. I wish it was that simple.
cholericfc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 05:42 PM
  #5  
fltt
 
fltt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 33
Default

It is a direct short to ground if the fuse blows right away.
Pinched wire? behind the radio
fltt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 05:56 PM
  #6  
Five0hFox
3rd Gear Member
 
Five0hFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 766
Default

I'd start tracing wires looking for a pinch or bare spot.
Five0hFox is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 06:32 AM
  #7  
ttocs
6th Gear Member
 
ttocs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 6,936
Default

yes that and the dome light, cig lghter are common to be found on the same constant power circuit as the radio. its commong for mult items in the same location to be powered by the same wires. Could even just be a bad lighter plug, try pulling it out, checking the botton of it to ensure there are no wires/coins inside it(do you have kids?) and then see if it blows again.
ttocs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 10:27 AM
  #8  
cholericfc
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
cholericfc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 580
Default

So, I guess I need to trace the wiring from the dome light and the cig lighter.

Actually, now that I'm thinking of it. The radio is on more than one fuse terminal. So, i guess I should check the items on that as well.

- I have NO ignition chime (hasn't worked in years)
- My seat belt light on the instrument cluster (red) stays steady when the headlights are on.
- All of my 4 aftermarket gauges (just the lights) are wired into my A/C
- I don't know where to tap in the ignition wire for my water temp gauge.
cholericfc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 04:25 AM
  #9  
19stang88
3rd Gear Member
 
19stang88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 798
Default

Short somewhere. trace everything that goes with fuse 8
19stang88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 12:49 PM
  #10  
cholericfc
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
cholericfc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 580
Default

I've checked everything except behind the instrument cluster.

I eliminated a wiring harness underneath the steering column, the ground wire lost all of its insulation, and I redid the ground to a different location.

I redid any connection or wire that I felt was even the slightest bit sketchy.

NOW, I really wonder if my gauges are hooked up wrong.

Volt - Red wire goes to engine ground on firewall; black wire goes to ignition coil
Oil - mechanical
Water temp - Used a nut behind stereo as a ground; one wire goes to the sensor; another wire (for ignition) not sure were to put it........??????
VAC - mechanical

All LIGHTS for the gauges end up tapping into the wiring behind the Climate Control.

The only other thing I can think of is the fact that I replaced the instrument cluster with one from a 1991 GT... and the RED seatbelt light stays on all the time (with headlights on)

I'm so frustrated.
cholericfc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
jwog666
Pipes, Boost & Juice
6
01-07-2018 07:16 AM
jrrhd73must
Classic Mustang General Discussion
2
10-02-2015 09:17 PM
daytooday
General Tech
0
09-20-2015 10:55 AM
wenmill
General Tech
1
09-11-2015 07:07 AM
cbird1177711
2005-2014 Mustangs
0
09-02-2015 04:12 PM

Forum Jump

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory