5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

New power rack install?

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2014, 11:14 AM
Project 5.GO!
2nd Gear Member

Default New power rack install?

It's been a couple years since I last tackled this job, and I need a few pointers.

The garages locally want $350 for the job, and I don't remember it being that involved. It's a one-piece rack, and I remember it being two bolts holding it on to the car, one bolt holding the input shaft, jam nuts holding on the tie rod ends, and some miscellaneous hoses.

Am I glossing over details? How many hours will it take my amateur *** to do this job?
Old 04-26-2014, 02:00 PM
michaela8456

took me an hour to take off about two hours putting back on
Old 04-27-2014, 10:55 AM
Project 5.GO!
2nd Gear Member

What's your skill level? "Like to get hands dirty occasionally" or mechanic by trade?
Old 04-27-2014, 11:37 AM
ALMOST STOCK
4th Gear Member

Skill level I'll give it a 4 rating.

If it's possible, determine whether the rack bushings on the car are 1-piece or two-piece by loosening the rack and trying to pull it forward enough to tell. It makes a big difference when you buy the rack. If you can, take the rack with you to the parts store, or at the very least the big rolled steel pins that locate it. You'll know what I mean when you get the rack off, they're the sleeves the bolts run through. Take them to the parts store and test-fit them into the rack they try to sell you. They list 4 different racks when in fact there should only be one for a 5.0 Mustang. The rack I bought first was for "performance suspension" and listed a 2-piece bushing. The rack was a dead ringer for the one on my car but the bushings were too small to get over the locating pins. The one I ended up with has a slower ratio but damn sure fit back on the car, so there it stays.