5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Overheating at idle (New to Fox Bodies)

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2014, 03:42 PM
Blk Vert

Default Overheating at idle FIXED Now, Low Voltage Problem(New to Fox Bodies)

I’m new to the Fox Body world, but not to working on cars. I just bought a 1991 triple black GT 5.0 convertible with a 5 speed and leather two weeks ago and I love it! My 5.0 (I love saying that) is overheating when it’s at idle too long or in very slow traffic. It gets to the last white line before the red line at the 270 mark. If I’m traveling 10-15 mph it’s fine, but anything less it overheats. The water pump is not leaking from that little hole on the bottom. The fan clutch seems to be working properly after I tested all the different ways given on the web and it has a Mishimoto radiator. The heater core is bad and is leaking if that makes a difference. I don’t know.

Mods:
Edelbrock intake
BBK cold air intake
BBK 70mm throttle body
BBK long tube headers
BBK H pipe
Flowmasters
Mishimoto radiator
A bunch of suspension parts that’s irrelevant

I just bought a Hayden heavy duty fan clutch, Murry heavy duty fan blade(cause it has 10 blades and not 9 and said heavy duty), and a Mr. Gasket 180 thermostat.
My original fan has a bunch of cracks in it and I don’t know what thermostat is in the car right now. It “looks” to be running to cold most of the time and probably has a 160, but I don’t want to ruin my piston seals too early and dump fuel in the engine that’s not necessary. Pictured below is how it runs most of the time.
Name:  Temp_zps32b90b74.png
Views: 2227
Size:  280.8 KB