5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Couple Of 5.0 questions.

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2005, 12:34 AM
pcupo12

Default Couple Of 5.0 questions.

Ok, i may be a newbie here, but am no newbie to cars. Personally, im a honda guy. I drive a boosted Eg coupe. (vid in my sig). Anywho, my buddy has a 95 5.0 w/ a motorsport s/c on it. As far as i can see, the car came with a Vortec 12:1 FMU. What can he do to tune this beast? Get an Apexi AFC and an adjustable FPR>? Can you chip the ECU's? Let me know, cuz i wanna help him out. The thing is runnin crazy rich. How good are the stock injectors? What CC are they? Thanks!

Also. We have a worthless Narrowband A/F gauge layin around. What color wire on the 02 sensor do i splice into? He wants to fill up that Gauge cluster (empty gauge hole) and cant afford a wideband 02 sensor. Thanks for your help fellas. ~Pete
Old 10-25-2005, 12:45 AM
silver91gt
5th Gear Member

Default RE: Couple Of 5.0 questions.

mustang injectors are rated in pounds per hour, not cubic centimeters.
stock injectors are 19lb/hr
what color are the injectors?

orange is stock
blue is 24#
red is 30#
I think green is 42#

anyways, make sure the mass air meter is calibrated for the injectors, if you run 24# injectors with a mass air meter calibrated for 19#ers it will run hella rich.

adjustable fuel pressure regulator is a must for tuning.
yes, you can get chips burned for the computers.

when I hooked up my A/F ratio gauge I just followed the wires from the o2 sensors.
I think the left one is the red wire and the right is grey with a yellow stripe.
the plug is right under the mass air meter. the connector on the left.
Old 10-25-2005, 02:09 AM
Quik
6th Gear Member

a honda guy trying to tune a domestic thats funny. sorry but it really is.