5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Moates Quarter Horse Tuning

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2016, 04:13 PM
UltraBlue91'
1st Gear Member

Default Moates Quarter Horse Tuning

Anyone use this before? The last time I was at my local performance shop, the foxbody guy there highly recommended it. I'm stuck with $hitty Bama tuning right now...although my car runs well, the emissions were way off and I had to get it on a dyno to tweak it just to pass. The only thing I'm worried about is doing the tuning myself. I have no experience with that stuff. All I know is you can get Binary editor and start tuning on your laptop.
Old 10-14-2016, 06:41 AM
88 orangepeel notch
6th Gear Member

Could you list your mods ?

The stock ECM does a pretty good job of adapting to mods and keeping the motor happy. If it is running poorly and not passing emissions, I'd look into a sensor that's out of tolerance or a vacuum leak before spending that cash on a tuner.

Good luck

Edit: Maybe I should explain that alittle better. When I first bought my car, it was an eye burner when I got it. All mods where already done and it drove and ran pretty good. Just don't open the windows or you'd get a headache in 10 minutes while you wiped away tears from the exhaust. Just standing behind the car while it was running wasn't advised....

I gave it a complete tune up, fixed 2 bad vacuum lines and replaced the ECT sensor. That made a night and day difference. I installed a wideband and picked up an Anderson PMS for tuning. Surprisingly the car needed just a touch less fuel at idle, other than that, the stock computer maintained perfect AFR at all throttle settings. I didn't have to do anything to make it run cleaner or better.

Last edited by 88 orangepeel notch; 10-14-2016 at 07:22 AM.
Old 10-14-2016, 10:31 AM
UltraBlue91'
1st Gear Member