5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Removing or adjusting shift kit

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2017, 02:49 AM
dimebagdrell

Default Removing or adjusting shift kit

I just bought a '95 vert and the guy told me it has a "high shift kit" on it, but didn't know what kind or any other info on it. It shifts really weird. If I try to start from normal D position, it shifts 1-2 at super high RPM, like 5k-6k, 2-3 shift is the same, but then to keep it in third is really tricky. I'm new to mustangs this is my 2nd one, but my first v8 and 5.0, but I'm farely handy. Is there a way to remove to shift kit back to stock? Or I know it's better to have a shift kit on, is there a way to adjust a shift kit so that it would shift more normal for daily driver use? My buddy also has an old GT sitting that has a perfectly good standard transmission, how big a deal would it be to swap a manual tranny in?
Old 05-22-2017, 04:29 AM
dawson1112
5th Gear Member

The AODE is an electronically controlled transmission. A mild streetable reprogramming kit should not change the shift points to much, but a high reprogramming kit might. I suspect that is what has been done. I bet if you start in 1 and manual shift up through the gears you can make it shift at what ever rpm you choose. You need to know what kit was installed.

The high performance reprogramming kit is meant to be used as manual shift automatic. And is meant for use in vehicles with a O/D off switch. Try turning off the O/D button. Start in low and manually select the gears as you gradually apply throttle. When you get up to about 55 or 60 go ahead and select D, then turn on the O/D switch.

If you want to go back to stock, your going to need a new valve body since there have been holes drilled and different springs and valves used.
Old 05-22-2017, 11:54 PM
dimebagdrell