5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

GEAR DRIVE?!?!

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2006, 07:41 AM
Volcom66
2nd Gear Member

Default GEAR DRIVE?!?!

ok so i have my 66 with a 302 and i have my flowmasters and she sounds good and health but recently i got a cracked piston so i have it all apart and i realized the chain i had in there was going u know where! so i was thinking mabey i want a gear drive... i love the sound of a blower but i hate the cost of it lol! i know most ppl i hear that have it loath the sound of gear drive after a week but i want to know is it higher pitch then a blower or what, cuz if it sounds like a blower then count me in! I want my car to turn heads but not make ppl go crazy with the sound so is the "quiet" or "noise" for me?
Old 01-22-2006, 09:14 AM
bz1111
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: GEAR DRIVE?!?!

go with the blower not that loud and people can tell your coming
Old 01-22-2006, 10:47 AM
JD1969
Pro. B.S. caller outer

Gear drives are old technology and are not that good, they can transfer unwanted harmonics through the engine, Besides that, the reason you want one is straight up ricer, no offence, but it's the same thing as a honda with one of those fake turbo things.
Old 01-22-2006, 11:00 AM
grabbem88
6th Gear Member

+1...if you have a balanced motor a gear drive is not the way to go..
if want to be cheesey,about having your car sound like a s/c,without having one...then just get a loud stereo,and download a s/c running then you'll be all set.
Old 01-22-2006, 06:41 PM
Volcom66
2nd Gear Member