how to put a chevy 350 in a stang - Page 3 - MustangForums.com

Go Back  MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > 5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang
Reload this Page >

how to put a chevy 350 in a stang

Notices
5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

how to put a chevy 350 in a stang

Reply

 
 
 
Old 02-13-2006, 09:57 PM
  #21  
matacemat
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10
Default RE: how to put a chevy 350 in a stang

Jegs high performance sells tubular k members for the 79-93 fox fitted with sbc mounts. They are made by AJE racing. Jegs part # is 040-mu-3030. Retail is 429.00. So with this the engine would be bolted up with ease.
matacemat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2006, 10:20 PM
  #22  
Twister
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 2,645
Default RE: how to put a chevy 350 in a stang


ORIGINAL: JD1969

IF any of you guys had a damn clue you would know that there are kits out there to do this very thing and even without a kit it's pretty easy. The guy came here and asked for our help and all you ******** do is flame him, that is not acceptible in the tech sections. If it was in off topic thats one thing but flaming is not in the tech areas, so if you don't have anything constructive to add KEEP YOUR MOUTH SHUT.
Here is good link
http://www.voy.com/189349/
Just so of you know SBD with 4 bolt mains are cheap and don't split at 500 hp like the 5.0 does (actually neither do the 2 bolt blocks). Also 383 stroker kits are dirt cheap for chevy motors. If the guy can get one for free and has a crappy 4 cyl in there now, this swap makes sence.
mind if I play devil's advocate for a minute?

by the time he buys the kit, a new tranny, heads, and everything, he will have a car with no resale value and it will not be able to pass smog in most states. If he buys a 351 and spends the same money, he can still use factory fuel injection, produce the same horsepower, pass smog (unless it is really built) and not get ribbed buy both the ford and gm guys.
Twister is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2006, 11:47 PM
  #23  
JD1969
Pro. B.S. caller outer
 
JD1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: IL
Posts: 9,644
Default RE: how to put a chevy 350 in a stang

He will need a trans either way, the car is currently a 4 cyclinder, so that part is a wash. As for resale, the car will most likley never be worth much anyways, in fact the faster it is the more it will be worth. Besides you should never ever build a car like a Fox Stang and base what you do to it on resale. These cars are a dime a dozen and will never really be worth much in the grand scheme of things. Sure the 351 is a good engine but he can get this one for free. With a simple rebuild and a little head work (or buying a set of iron Vortec heads for about $600 complete) he can have an honest 350 hp engine for about $1800. This is old school hot rodding here guys, working with what you have or get for cheap is what has always been about. At the end of the day all that matters is if the owner is happy.
JD1969 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 12:47 AM
  #24  
94bullit
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 48
Default RE: how to put a chevy 350 in a stang

personally i think its like taking satans bible to church, but hey if its free shoot for the stars!
94bullit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 01:07 AM
  #25  
ZachW04Stang
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 4,343
Default RE: how to put a chevy 350 in a stang

If its cheap, fast, and sounds good I'd drive it. I don't care who manufactured the parts.
ZachW04Stang is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 06:50 AM
  #26  
w8less
6th Gear Member
 
w8less's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: KY
Posts: 13,398
Default RE: how to put a chevy 350 in a stang

AJE makes a k-member for this very swap and i think it can aslo come with motor mounts for the application.

here is a link to the website http://www.ajeracing.com/index.htm
w8less is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 01:38 PM
  #27  
chord509
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location:
Posts: 128
Default RE: how to put a chevy 350 in a stang

I don't see how this is any different than the ultra classic hotrod Fords sporting Chevy engines in them. Personally, I couldn't bring myself to do it.

I say go for it and take the pink slip of everyone who gives you the job for putting a SBC in your 'Stang.
chord509 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 06:01 PM
  #28  
1BADASSLX
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location:
Posts: 508
Default RE: how to put a chevy 350 in a stang

please!! dont do that thats like an inbreed man thats nasty!!!
1BADASSLX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 11:37 PM
  #29  
Twister
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 2,645
Default RE: how to put a chevy 350 in a stang


ORIGINAL: chord509

I don't see how this is any different than the ultra classic hotrod Fords sporting Chevy engines in them.
that is why I have a flathead and a Y-Block...for old hot rod Fords! I am dropping a 428 into my 57
Twister is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 01:43 AM
  #30  
5speed GT
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 664
Default RE: how to put a chevy 350 in a stang


ORIGINAL: ricepatrol

Why?
Going from a 4 banger to a big block can't hurt
a chevy 350 isnt a big block
5speed GT is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: how to put a chevy 350 in a stang


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.