5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Sorting through the BS of buying a 5.0

Old 02-19-2006, 06:58 PM
BaldGeorge
1st Gear Member

Default Sorting through the BS of buying a 5.0

Is it just me or is buying a 5.0 an incredibly painful process? I know exactly what I want, 1987-1993, 5.0, 5 speed, hatchback. Preferably a GT. There are cars here that are nothing more than parts cars, bodies shot, motor locked, no title, etc. that have a $4,000 asking price. People think they're "rare". The few straight clean ones I've seen have prices from $6500 to $22,500. Whats the value of the car I'm looking for? I'm a body man and painter so if it needs body work or paint thats no problem, I have a really good friend who's a mechanic. He'll work for cigarettes and pizza so some mechanical issues don't worry me. I've seen a lot of modified 5.0's that scare me, the engines are absolutely cobbled together, don't idle worth crap, smoke and knock etc. I want a clean car, something unmolested, it doesn't have to be low miles. Just a solid foundation to do a nice daily driver. What are some things I should be on the lookout for when I see a car I like? Any areas especially prone to rust? Most importantly whats the real world value on a car like that? Why does everyone think they're so "rare"? I have a good eye for judging if a car is wrecked. I plan on reading as many topics in the 5.0 forum as possible. At this point I need info. I had less trouble finding my 64 1/2 convertible and 67 fastback than I am finding a clean 5.0. My plans for a car like this are to make a real nice daily driver out of it, no excessive engine mods, suspension, or brakes. Mostly stock, nice wheels and paint, and a great stereo. My other two Stang's I fixed up so nice I'm worried about letting them out of my sight.
Old 02-19-2006, 07:02 PM
5speed GT
3rd Gear Member