5.0L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 5.0L Mustangs.

Tune up for a '89 GT (need help/advice)n

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2007, 06:18 AM
boogieman

Default Tune up for a '89 GT (need help/advice)n

My mustang needs a tune up, and I have heard that its much cheaper to do tune ups yourself. So..... I called around and the cheapest i could find was $150.

Can i do it cheaper then that? How hard is it? What do i need to replace?

I've never done a tune up before... But i would like to learn how, and be able to do it myself if i could without risking my car.

Any advice or help? I read a site about what a tune up includes....But its not Mustang specific, and some of the stuff probably isnt even correct for my car.

Any help greatly appreciated!
Old 07-28-2007, 07:07 AM
PRO50SC
The Rogue Mod

Default RE: Tune up for a '89 GT (need help/advice)n

150 bucks could be cheap or a lot depending on what the price included. If you are mechanically inclined, tuning up a 5.0 is relatively easy. If the parts have been on there for a while, replace everything. You don't need anything special. Standard motorcraft/autolite plugs. Cap, rotor, wires(most ppl use the Ford racing ones) fuel, air and pcv valve. You should be able to get those parts for under a 100 bucks and then do it yourself.
Old 07-28-2007, 07:18 AM
GT350
1st Gear Member

Paying for a tune-up? Its only changing out simple parts, might as well let the guy drive it for you too. I cringe at the thought of some monkey putting his little greasy paw prints all over my pride and joy!
Old 07-28-2007, 07:28 AM
PRO50SC
The Rogue Mod

ORIGINAL: GT350

Paying for a tune-up? Its only changing out simple parts, might as well let the guy drive it for you too. I cringe at the thought of some monkey putting his little greasy paw prints all over my pride and joy!