5.0L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 5.0L Mustangs.

new to the 5.0

Old 08-28-2008, 10:33 PM
dunerdr

Default new to the 5.0

just bought an 88 was told it was a gt not positive. im a newb to workin on car engines. ive done alot of work on small motors mostly quads and love workin on them. found a good deal on this and decided to give it a whirl. so my question is do these motors have roller cams? id really like to get a decent street cam and a set of heads on it. that leads me to my next question where do i start as far as getting more fuel to the motor? do these motors respond well to boost? i see all kinds of twin turbo kits and crap on ebay and have a friend with a paxton supercharger for sale i was wondering what mods to look at for a forced induction setup. i know several people who spray thier 5.0s and im not saying its not an option but id like to look into a turbo or turbos or supercharger first. im really just looking for all the basic stuff i need to know any help or info is greatly greatly appreciated.

thanks,
lance
Old 08-28-2008, 11:13 PM
FuzzyDiceRule
5th Gear Member

its almost impossible to not know if an 88 is a GT or not... first off, does it look like my car, body kit wise? if so, its a GT, if not its an LX, does it have Tailpipes, if not its a GT...

yes they have roller cams,

a supercharger with the larger injectors and fuel pump will net you about 350hp, the problem with these engines is they have a VERY restrictive heads cam and intake combo, it basically sucks nuts, so to get any REAL power out of them, you should look into them, its a fairly expensive swap, but worth it... that will net you the same as the supercharger... add the supercharger to THAT, and you max out the block (about 500hp) thats the point where you should look into aftermarket blocks and stroker kits

its a never ending cycle
Old 08-28-2008, 11:19 PM
mstngsule68
4th Gear Member