5.0L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 5.0L Mustangs.

Im new with cars and forums

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2008, 09:30 PM
Lazor05
2nd Gear Member

Default Im new with cars and forums

Hi, I just bought an 5.0 82 mustang gt. I really like the car so far and am getting used to driving a stick. I want to make my car faster(of course) but im not really sure where to start. I dont have much knowledge as far as cars go. All i have done so far is replace the heater core, which took forever. I have read some places that upgrading to 4.10 gears would be the most bang for my buck, but there are some issues that I should probably fix before that. I have a hole in my exhaust, its about 1 in. in diameter. My speedometer doesn't work, i am missing 2 mounting holes for the passenger seat and the parking break doesn't work. The engine was recently rebuilt however and it has new rear control arms. There is also a new edelbrock carburetor on the car. I really want to start fixing up my car soon, so any advice would be great. I am however still in high school, so i'm not rolling in money. So nothing too big. I was just wondering where anyone thinks I should start. I think I got a good deal on this car, but then again I dont know too much about cars. I payed $2000 for it
Old 09-30-2008, 09:33 PM
mjr46
D.R. THE PATHETIC DORK

If it doesn't have such now, get some headers and an h-pipe and a double hump cross member and put true dual exhaust on it and 3.73 gears would be a better choice for you.
Old 09-30-2008, 09:34 PM
mjr46
D.R. THE PATHETIC DORK

oh..post a pic of it if you can.
Old 09-30-2008, 10:36 PM
Lazor05
2nd Gear Member

yeah i was planning on it. But I figured I should wait until its light outside. And honestly I really dont know about any of that stuff. I know there are 2 pipes coming out the back, but that doesn't necessarily make it a true dual exhaust right?
Old 10-01-2008, 12:10 AM
Shelty
5th Gear Member