5.0L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 5.0L Mustangs.

Rebuild tips & reccomendations-- street rider

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2009, 10:41 PM
jimbancroft

Default Rebuild tips & reccomendations-- street rider

I'm going to rebuild a 302 for a kit car and wanted everyone's input on how to do this. The kit won't be raced at all, just for highway driving and city streets.

I have neighbors and don't want to wake them up or set off car alarms whenever I pull into the driveway. I'm pretty new to the rebuilding process but was thinking of getting a 1996-00 Ford Explorer V8 302 since they tend to have fewer miles on them (rollover accidents). But if the right mustang comes along I have no problem going with that either.

So, I'd like to keep things as stock as possible. Can anyone reccomend what I should get and where? For instance, crankshafts/heads, headers-- most of what I see online at summit and elsewhere is with an eye toward racing, and that's fine, but are there close-to-stock units for sale on jegs and summit? I'd hesitate to go to Kragen or PepBoys for important stuff like this.

Assume I stick with a pulled engine and keep the block and heads. If it's from, say, a 1990-94 GT, what would a machine shop charge for new valves and seats, springs etc, machining and magnafluxing? If the engine has 80k miles on it but ran well when pulled, should I think about new pistons and rings?

I'd also want to stick with EFI if possible, since that's what the engine came with. Again, no racing will be done. What would a replacement wiring harness run and what else do I need to think about (and replace) when keeping the EFI?

Sorry for the basic questions. I'm still early in the planning stages and was hoping for your input and suggestions. Thanks a lot
Old 03-01-2009, 10:48 PM
FivePointOhh
in limbo