5.0L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 5.0L Mustangs.

LX 1988 Auto, Summer car how to get 500 HP

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2009, 09:19 AM
ibayter
2nd Gear Member

Smile LX 1988 Auto, Summer car how to get 500 HP

Hello guys,
Anyone could tell me if we have a thread where I can go and find out what set up is better to go and get 500 H.P out of my stock car and still drive it during summer time to work every day ? I only drive less than 30 Km a day from hme to work. I have some shortie headder BBK that I have not installed them yet, I wan to do it when I take my engine out of the car ( this is my first time I am going to do it myself, I have seen it my mech doing it all my life) I am also planning to get a supercharge or turbo later on not now but I would like to have my Aluminum Heads and my cam so I will apreciate your input as what brand goes with an so on.
I think I am not sure that my converter is like for racing because when I hit my overdrive you can feel the way it engage and goes fast, how do you find out when I bring my engine down and take it apart from my Tranny ?

Thanks guys !

Ivan
Old 04-15-2009, 09:47 AM
FivePointOhh
in limbo

for the 500hp you can do it soooo many ways. for one you have to know thats nearing the general limits of the block itself. with that being said..

how much is your budget?
over how much time do you plan on doing this build?
are you wanting to get there NA or with a power adder?

also IMO you should more shoot for a ET you'd like to hit vs. being a dyno queen. i say this because 500hp on stock suspension = slow!!!

just as an example, i want to hit 11.99 or better on a stock bottom end 302. now that you have a goal, you have to plan your budget and build around that goal. hope that helps. i have no idea how much hp it will have but at least i know it'll be quick.
Old 04-15-2009, 10:17 AM
ibayter
2nd Gear Member