5.0L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 5.0L Mustangs.

Should I trade my Forged 383 transam for a 50. mustang??

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2010, 12:34 PM
Cale

Default Should I trade my Forged 383 transam for a 50. mustang??

I am at a cross roads. I have been working on third generation firebirds for about 7 years now. I have an 87 GTA with $10k in it and I am thinking about trading it for an 89 5.0 hatchback LX.

Here is what the GTA has.
6.3 Forged 383 motor (carbed)
Long tubes, full exhaust, RR, Cam, Aluminum heads the works!!
Automatic 700 R4
Black interior
Full suspension (subframes, tubular LCAs etc)
Upgraded rear end, aluminum DS, poly everything
and too much to list (trying to keep it short)

I want to like mustangs, but I made a 450 hp to the wheel motor for $4500 all said and done. It seems as if it takes alot of money and time to make a mustang do that. I also have some heart ache with 4 lug rims...

I have been building chevy motors for along time and I dont know anything about fords, so I do not know if I am making a mistake.

The ford is:
89 LX hatch 5 speed. Gray interior, pony rims. 1.6 rr mac headers and flowmaster exhaust. Think it is a good trade? Or should I keep the GTA?

or

Old 01-10-2010, 01:10 PM
Tony71502
5th Gear Member

I prefer the mustang over those ugly camaros anyday, but with that said. I would NOT trade a car like yours (if it is built properly) for a nearly stock mustang.

If you want a stang, sell your car and buy a stang for like 3000. That way you have a lot of money to put into the stang or other things.
Old 01-10-2010, 01:13 PM
motorman524
MF Informant

A trade straight up? No way. You need to ask for some cash too. But you should realize that you won't get what you have in it back.
4 lug is an easy thing to convert to 5.
Mustangs are fun
Old 01-10-2010, 01:16 PM
blueboosted95
2nd Gear Member